Ed Higgins

by Best Poem

she said

what if
I could disconnect
from you
finally

leave completely
this time
not just behind
my eyes
in imagined choices

but like wind eases
through poplars

nothing resisting
not leaf, not branch
not trunk

rising
in strength
to follow
flight’s desire

I’d belong
to no one
not even
doubt

sing instead
reachable songs
still
left me

in my oh
so separate
heart

Ed Higgins’ poems and short fiction have appeared in Commonweal , Monkeybicycle, Otoliths, Pindeldyboz, and Bellowing Ark, as well as the online journals Lily, CrossConnect, Word Riot, The Hiss Quarterly, Mannequin Envy, Poems Niederngasse, Red River Review, Ducts, and Poets Against War, among others. He lives on a small farm in Yamhill, Oregon with a menagerie of animals including an emu named To & Fro.  He teaches creative writing and literature at George Fox University, south of Portland, OR.

