Steve Hellyard Swartz

by Best Poem

If Laurie

And I had just stayed together, which we almost did
This would’ve been our thirty-ninth year
I know no one does it, high school loves –
No one I know anyway
And I don’t even think of her
As the priest said to the Rabbi
I got other fish to fry
But today it’s one of those rainy Fridays, one of those Fridays when
It just rains and rains
And me with time on my hands
Time for a smoke or two or three
With the debate tonight to look forward to
A real barnburner they say
A real tooth and nailer
The rain, so they say, will come down all night, an umbrella
Of a shower, an umbrella over our house
Our house filled with bloody meat, good and bloody it is, red and raw
The red and raw of us, of me and her and
The thing we did
The thing made flesh
The thing in bed
The thing we couldn’t say
The – Laurie and me
The – 39 years, 39 years
The – hand on my back
Where it hurts, where it won’t go away
The – hand, pretty as the voice
A – There!
A – The meat, in the oven, with carrots, potatoes, celery
A – brown bread, good and hard the crust
A – roast, nice and soft
A – birthday tomorrow (Laurie, your day)
A – Finally
A – God, yes
A – soft soft night, an “x” that marks the spot
A – something to watch, to hear, to have heard, to say, to have said, a good fight
A – pain in my heart
A – Turn out the light
A – That’s it
An – Ah
An – Oh
A – That’s it

Steve Hellyard Swartz’s poetry has appeared in Best Poem, New Verse News, The Kennesaw Review, and haggard and halloo. His poetry has received Honorable Mention in the Anna Davidson Rosenberg Poetry Competition, The Allen Ginsberg Poetry Awards, and The Mary C. Mohr Poetry Awards. In 1990, his film “Never Leave Nevada” opened in Dramatic Competition at the U.S. Sundance Film Festival in Park City, Utah.

